RESEARCH – children’s books

Room on the broom by Julia Donaldson and illustration Axel Scheffler

dd

I own this book and I love the illustrations used within it. I believe that the imagery has a big impact on children. Axel Scheffler’s illustrations tell a story to the children which takes their imagination on a wild ride. Julia Donaldson is a brilliant children’s author, she writes like a poet which I believe writing like that, keeps children occupied. Scheffler’s and Donaldson’s work bounces off each other which has created such a fantastic book.

I have looked into this book for my research on creating a children’s app because Donaldson shows me what vocabulary to use and Scheffler shows me the type of illustrations which capture young minds.

 

Superworm by Julia Donaldson and illustrated Axel SchefflerΒ 

superworm.jpg

I have also looked into this book for my research on creating a children’s app because again, Donaldson shows me what vocabulary to use and Scheffler helps me understand how to illustrate animals for children.

 

Princes Evie’s Ponies ‘Shimmer the magic ice pony’ by Sarah Killbride and illustrated by Sophie Tilley

cvr9781471116438_9781471116438_hr.jpg

I own this book and I love the illustrations used within it. I have researched into this book because in my collaborative group work I was assigned to design the app pages for when the weather is full of snow. I believe that the imagery used in this book has a big impact on children because it takes their imagination on a magical wild ride. Sophie Tilley has grabbed my attention with this book so I expect it will grab children’s attention 100x more. I tried this theory out on my seven year old sister. She now has about 8 ‘princess evie’s ponies’ books.

Published by

raygs01

Year 1 Level 4 student at Cardiff Metropolitan University, studying BA (hons) Illustration A blog to reflect on my progress

Leave a Reply

