Power and prelude

We have been set a two week task to create a short project on the book “the man who mistook his wife for a hat” by Oliver Sacks

I read the book and then researched further into Agnosia which was caused by damage to the brain
image

image

image

image

image

image

I brainstormed a few ideas about what I could create for my short project.

The final outcome was to create a book cover, however because of the time limit I found myself struggling to create the final outcome.

Here is my process

I gave myself rules to stick with throughout this project
image

I then researched into artist Franco Clun because I wanted to create a portrait of Mr. P, to literally show what he is suffering from.
image

I then started to look into brain scans from people suffering from brain damage. I researched into this because I wanted the reader of the book to have a slight insight to what the book would be about.
image

I have now started to experiment with colour and add quotes from the book itself.
image

image

image

image

I have now began to brainstorm ideas for the cover. There will be a portrait of Mr. P with his brain appearing out of his skull.
I want to add UV paint to the final outcome.
I have decided when I illustrate Mr. P’s portrait I’m not going to add eyes, nose and a mouth. This will illustrate Agnosia.
The UV paint will then illustrate these features when the UV light is shown.

image

I’ve now started painting colours of the brain scan to create a background for the final cover.
image

image

image

I have now begun the process of Mr. P

image

image

image

I am now going to add UV Paint for the features.

image

The brain has also got UV on it because I want to show the public that the brain is the reason for the facial features not to be shown

Published by

raygs01

Year 1 Level 4 student at Cardiff Metropolitan University, studying BA (hons) Illustration A blog to reflect on my progress

Leave a Reply

